The Wheel of Time Books in Order

We love the Wheel of Time epic fantasy series written by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (after Jordan’s passing in 2007). While not as well known as Game of Thrones or Lord of the Rings, the series has its band of loyal followers. The series is so popular that Amazon bought the rights to make a TV series that will launch in the next year or two.

The main series consists of 14 books and a prequel. There have also been a number of graphic novels and companion books developed over the years. Below you’ll find a list of all of the Wheel of Time books in order.

Book Order of Wheel of Time

Robert Jordan (real name: James Oliver Rigney Jr.) began writing the Wheel of Time series in 1990 with The Eye of the World. The series consists of 14 books and a prequel. Unfortunately, Robert Jordan passed away in 2007 and did not finish writing the series. The 12th book was supposed to be the final book of the series, but when Brandon Sanderson, a well-known sci-fi writer, took over the series, he realized there was too much content to include in one book so he split the 12th book into three books.

Book #ReleasedTitleImageBookKindleAudiobook
Prequel2004New SpringBuyBuyBuy
11990The Eye of the WorldBuyBuyBuy
21990The Great HuntBuyBuyBuy
31991The Dragon RebornBuyBuyBuy
41992The Shadow RisingBuyBuyBuy
51993The Fires of HeavenBuyBuyBuy
61994Lord of ChaosBuyBuyBuy
71996A Crown of SwordsBuyBuyBuy
81998The Path of DaggersBuyBuyBuy
92000Winter’s HeartBuyBuyBuy
102003Crossroads of TwilightBuyBuyBuy
112005Knife of DreamsBuyBuyBuy
122009The Gathering StormBuyBuyBuy
132010Towers of MidnightBuyBuyBuy
142012A Memory of LightBuyBuyBuy

Graphic Novels

Well-known comic book writer Chuck Dixon, working closely with the Jordan estate, created the New York Times bestselling graphic novel adaptation of Robert Jordan’s international bestseller.

  1. The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel (Volume One) – 2011
  2. The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel (Volume Two) – 2012
  3. The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel (Volume Three) – 2013
  4. The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel (Volume Four) – 2013
  5. The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel (Volume Five) – 2014
  6. The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel (Volume Six) – 2015

Companion Books

There are several companion books that Robert Jordan and others created to help people understand the Wheel of Time universe.


The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The 14 book series (and prequel) follow the lives of three young men, Rand al’Thor, Matrim Cauthon, or Perrin Aybara, during the coming of the Dragon Reborn who will save humanity from the Dark One.

How Long Is the Wheel of Time Series?

The Wheel of Time series consists of 14 books and one prequel. The main 14 books contain 4,287,886 words which will take about 240 hours to read.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here