12 Adventure Filled Books Like Lord of the Rings

Looking for interesting fantasy-filled exciting books like Lord of the Rings that will take you on an adventure across mystical lands and new creatures from the comfort of your home? You are in the right place because we have compiled several books as good as Tolkien’s epic fantasy series. Check them out below.

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) by George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

If you are looking for books like Lord of the Rings, which are filled with adventure, fantasy, and political power struggles, you should add George R.R. Martin‘s A Game of Thrones to your to-be-read list. 

This epic tale focuses on Lord Eddard Stark, the Warden of the North, whom King Robert I Baratheon bestows as his Hand. The Hand of the King is an honorary position in the Seven Kingdoms that most men would kill for. But to Lord Eddard Stark, it feels more like a curse.

The Warden of the North has to leave his home, family, and religion to help the king rule. But Lord Eddard Stark quickly realizes that there are treacherous people at court. He is also torn between doing what he must or carrying out his own will.

On top of that, a man in exile with a rightful claim to the Iron Throne has come of age and is seeking revenge. Will the son of the mad Dragon King cross the sea to claim the Iron Throne and exact revenge on King Robert 1? Can Lord Eddard Stark protect the king from the enemies in his court and those beyond the seas?

Just as Lord of the Rings is full of plot twists and suspense, get ready to be taken on a roller coaster of cliff-hangers, horrific destruction, and bloody histories as the story is narrated from eight different perspectives in the chapters.

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed

Throne of the Crescent Moon

If you were instantly drawn to Lord of the Rings because of its captivating tale about how the young Frodo Baggins faces an immense task of keeping the One Ring away from the Dark Lord, then Ahmed’s debut fantasy genre novel is a perfect choice.  

Throne of the Crescent Moon is a compelling story that revolves around two major characters, Doctor Adoulla Makhslood and Raseed bas Raseed. Doctor Adoulla Makhslood is a tired old man that is also the last true Ghul hunter in his city, so you already know retirement is not an option for this guy.

Doctor Adoulla Makhslood begins suspecting that an agent working for the fallen angel has evil plans to unleash catastrophe upon the city. The Doctor’s mission to save his city does not go as smoothly as he anticipates. A brewing conflict between a mysterious rebel known as the Falcon Prince and the Khalif threatens to ruin Doctor Adoulla Makhslood’s mission.

The Doctor must pair up with a young dervish-type sword master, Raseed bas Raseed. Raseed bas Raseed is a compatriot that constantly praises God and dispenses the Holy Justice of God when needed. 

With the dervish sword master by his side, Doctor Adoulla Makhslood gathers a team of Ghul hunters, including a were-lion, magi, and an alchemist, to stop the evil scheme of the enemies.

Will the good Doctor succeed and destroy the Ghul master to save his city? Will the power struggle between the fascinating Falcon Prince and the tyrannical Khalif prevent the doctor from accomplishing his mission? Grab this rich and wonderfully vibrant tale to find out.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Eragon (Inheritance, Book 1)

Looking for books like Lord of the Rings, which tell enthralling tales of friendship, adventure, and loyalty? Eragon by Christopher Paolini is a remarkable tale about a farm boy, Eragon, who stumbles upon a valuable gemstone in the forest and fantasizes of selling it to feed his family and save them from the grasp of poverty.

However, Eragon’s plans to sell the stone turn futile. It turns out that the valuable stone is actually a dragon egg, and Eragon is in disbelief as he witnesses a baby dragon hatch from the egg. Overcome by sympathy for the creature, Eragon decides to raise the dragon in secret, but Galbatorix, the evil king, finds out and sends his men to kill the dragon.

When Eragon hears this, he decides to flee for his life just in time as the henchmen arrived and mortally wounded Garrow, Eragon’s guardian. Broken-hearted, Eragon must leave the village after Garrow passes away, accompanied by Brom, an old master storyteller.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini will take you into a world of power, magic, and friendship, making you reminisce the friendship and adventures of Frodo and Samwise in Lord of the Rings.

The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy

The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks is among the few books like Lord of the Rings that literary critics claim are very similar to Tolkien’s epic fantasy series. So, if you absolutely yearn for an entrancing tale about magic, romance, and a bunch of youths embarking on a quest to save the world, then The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks will thrill you.

This charming tale chronicles the adventures of Flick Ohmsford and Shea, two foster brothers who must work together to stop the Dark Warlock Lord from establishing his dominion on earth. 

The story begins when Shea is dropped at the doorstep of the Ohmsford family in Shady Vale as a half-elf baby. The baby grows side by side with Flick Ohmsford, and the two brothers are inseparable.

Twenty years later, a tall, mysterious figure who happens to be the last Druid, Allanon, arrives in Shady Vale and changes Shea’s life forever. 

The Druid warns Shea that his life is in danger because he is the son of Jerle Shannara and the only person alive that can wield the Shannara sword against the Dark Warlord. The Dark Warlord knows Shea’s existence and is after him. Allanon gives Shea 3 elf stones to protect him as he leaves Shade Vale.

Confused, scared, and reluctant, Shea heeds the Druid’s warning and flees from Shady Vale alongside his brother Flick. Does Shea figure out how to use the three elf stones in time to save their lives? Will he be successful in his quest against the Dark Warlord?

The Sword of Shannara will remind you how Frodo’s normal life was abruptly disturbed when his cousin Bilbo suddenly appears and quickly entrusts the One ring to his care and urges him to destroy it and defeat the Dark Lord in The Lord of the Rings.

The Dragon Sword and Wind Child by Noriko Ogiwara

Dragon Sword and Wind Child

The Dragon Sword and Wind Child by award-winning author Noriko Ogiwara is one of the best books like Lord of the Rings. The story takes you to the land of Toyoashihara, where the Goddess of Darkness and the God of Light have been at war against each other for thousands of years.

Amidst all these, a 15-year-old girl’s life is turned upside down when she discovers she is a princess of the Dark’s Children and a reincarnation of Princess Sayura, the water maiden. The story will show you how Saya struggles to come to terms with her heritage because she was raised to hate the dark and love the light.

Armies of both the Dark and the Light seek to claim Saya because she is the only one that can awaken the Dragon Sword, a legendary weapon that can stop the war. Does Saya finally embrace her dark side? Will Saya be able to wield the Dragon sword? 

This story reminds you of Lord of the Rings and how the world’s fate is placed in the inexperienced hands of youngsters like Frodo and Saya, who are only beginning to live life.

The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss

3 Book Set of The Kingkiller Chronicle Series (The Name of the Wind, Wise Man's Fear and The Slow Regard of Silent Things)

Looking for a fantasy trilogy? The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss is a story about a Kvothe, a musician and notorious adventurer, telling a scribe his life story. This appealing tale allows you to explore Kvothe’s journey from childhood, adolescence, and adulthood in the most graceful yet thrilling form.

Patrick Rothfuss manages to split Kvothe’s life into various sections in the book. Your heart will break when you initially learn how Kvothe becomes an orphan and has no option but to make it through life as an urchin. The second part describes the adventures of Kvothe at the university and his re-entry into the music scene after spending his life traveling and performing with gypsy-like folk.

So, does Kvothe kill a king as depicted by the book’s title? That, dear reader, is something you will have to read the book to find out. In many ways, The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss feels familiar to Lord of the Rings because Kvothe is an ordinary man yet famous for his numerous adventures and hard life lessons.

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

A Wizard Of Earthsea (The Earthsea Cycle, 1)

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin will bring Gandalf to mind frequently as you enjoy this enchanting tale of magic, darkness, and adventure.

The story revolves around a young lad called Ged who discovers he has a talent for magic. Initially a mountain goat herd boy, Ged becomes proud, arrogant, and impulsive as he learns how to use magic with the help of Odion, his powerful yet mysteriously quiet master.

However, Ged’s pride gets the best of him when he decides to use magic to humiliate his rivals by reciting an ancient spell. Unfortunately, the spell backfires on Ged, and instead, he unleashes an evil undead spirit that attacks him. The undead spirit is Ged’s doppelganger and follows him everywhere he goes in an attempt to inhabit his body.

Ged must learn how to embrace his weakness and conquer his doppelganger. Does Ged succeed in his mission? You will have to grab this engrossing book to find out.

Legend of Drizzt: Homeland by R.A. Salvatore

Homeland (Drizzt '4: Paths of Darkness') (Forgotten Realms: The Legend of Drizzt, Book I)

If you miss reading heroic tales in books like Lord of the Rings, then Legend of Drizzt: Homeland by R.A. Salvatore will definitely scratch that itch. The book takes you to the darkest depths of the underworld and reveals to you how a single drow was able to walk away, leaving behind an evil community and a family that wanted to kill him.

Drizzt is the third son of weapon master Zaknafein and mother malice. According to drow tradition, Drizzt has to be sacrificed to the evil spider queen, Lolth, since he is the third son. However, his older brother dies unexpectedly, and he is spared from the sacrifice. This, unfortunately, displeases Drizzt’s family. 

Drizzt begins developing swordsman skills and learning new things at the Academy, making him realize how different he is from his fellow drows. Drizzt’s tale of self-discovery, feeling like an outcast, and loneliness will remind you of Frodo during his solo journey to Valinor in Lord of the Rings.

The Ill-Made Mute by Cecilia Dart-Thornton

The Ill-Made Mute: The Bitterbynde - Book 1

Did you enjoy Frodo’s adventures in new lands as he came across different magical creatures on his quest to take the Ring to Mordor? If you did, then The Ill-Made Mute by Cecilia Dart-Thornton is another classical tale you need to enjoy.

The story tells of an amnesiac who awakens in a strange new land and is immediately disfigured by a poisonous plant. Cecilia Dart-Thornton takes you on an adventure alongside the protagonist as they search for a cure while trying to figure out who they are and where they came from.

Books like Lord of the Rings never lack a little romance to spice up the story, and The Ill-Made Mute is no exception. Find out which secrets the protagonist discovers along the way as they search for their identity.

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

The Demon King (A Seven Realms Novel, 1)

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima is a story about Hans, a reformed thief who loves his family and would do anything to provide for them. Hans wears silver cuffs, which he has never been able to take off and sell because of a magic spell that prevents him from removing them. As he grows older, so do the cuffs; they are a part of him.

One day Han and his friend Dancer, who will remind you of the Frodo–Will duo dynamic in Lord of the Rings, come across three wizards that were using a magical amulet to set the Hanalea mountain on fire. Han wrestles the wizards for the amulet and wins.

However, Han soon discovers that the amulet he took from Micar Bayar, the High Wizard’s son, belonged to the Demon King. How will Han’s actions affect the Seven realms? Will the Demon King get back his amulet? This book will leave you in suspense and excitement as you move from page to page.

The Chronicles Of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander

The Chronicles of Prydain

The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander is like Lord of the Rings but with more humor and can be enjoyed by adults and young people. The story takes place in Prydain, a medieval fantasy territory that consists of enchanters, kings, prophecies, and great warriors. Ring any bells?

The tale focuses on Taran, a young man who looks after pigs but dreams of having a life of adventure. Taran finds himself drawn into the fight between good and evil and gains wisdom and loyal friends along his quest.

This tale will remind you of Lord of the Rings and take you back to the early moments when Frodo had to leave behind the life he knew and embark on the journey that would change his life forever.

Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan

Wheel of Time Premium Boxed Set I: Books 1-3 (The Eye of the World, The Great Hunt, The Dragon Reborn)

The Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan is eerie similar to The Lord of the Rings, given that it’s full of magic, beasts, and many dangers. The series consists of high fantasy novels set in a world without a name because of time’s cyclical nature in the books.

The prequel book of the series, New Spring, occurs during the time of the Aiel War and takes you through the events that lead to the end of the war and the groundbreaking discovery made by the Aes Sedai. 

The Aes Sedai discover the passing of the Dragon Prophesies through the rebirth of the Dragon. The story shows you how the Aes Sedai send their people to find the Dragon child and save it before the agents of the Shadow get their hands on the boy.

Are You Ready to Read Books Like Lord of the Rings?

Which of the above books like Lord of the Rings will you read first? Let us know which story sounds captivating enough to keep you hooked for hours or days.


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-03-03

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here