12 Must-Read Romance Books Like Twilight

Yearning for a book with a captivating story like Twilight saga’s Bella and Edward? You’re bound to gush over these books like Twilight! Like Meyer’s trilogy, our recommended novels have a captivating story centered on mythical creatures and, of course, forbidden love. We also included some alternatives like fantasy if you’re moving away from vampire romance books.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection (The Selection, 1)

The Selection is an exciting read centered on the life of America Singer, who is one of 35 women selected to compete for the love of Maxon, the crown prince of Illea, a country with a strict caste system. 

In the novel, Keria Cass takes you through America’s life, who is born in a lower-class family. And her only chance to escape the caste system is by winning The Selection. While other girls want to marry the prince, America has other plans since she is already in love with her childhood friend Aspen.

Her views and dreams are later changed when she meets Maxon.

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, Book 1)

Blue Bloods takes us back to the 1600s, during the pilgrimage when men and women from distant lands journeyed the seas to shape the New World. However, this story comes with a twist – they are not the only passengers. Vampires were part of the pilgrims and were assimilated into the society, rising to positions of power.

In Blue Bloods, Melissa narrates how vampires rose to prominence and gained wealth while keeping the secret of their immortality. The story revolves around Schuyler Van Alen, who is viewed as a threat to the blue bloods. Schuyler, who previously led a normal life, wakes up with blue veins in her arms one day.

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1)

Dead Until Dark, the first in a thirteen-book series, opens up to a world where vampires have come out of the shadows and are living among humans. And they don’t need to feed on humans since they have invented synthetic blood that helps them survive.

The protagonist, Sookie Stackhouse, is a cocktail waitress from a small town in Louisiana. Sookie was born with a unique telepathic gift that allows her to listen to people’s thoughts. However, she meets Bill, a charming vampire who she can’t read his thoughts, and falls for him. Dead Until Dark is one of the popular books like Twilight since readers are treated to other mythical creatures such as fae, werewolves, and witches.

Fun fact: Did you know that True Blood’s HBO series is an adaptation of Harris’ book?

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The Beautiful (The Beautiful Quartet)

The Beautiful is set in 19th-century New Orleans controlled by vampires. Renee takes you through the life of 17-yer old Celine Rousseau, who flees Paris only to find herself under the care of the Ursuline convent. During her stay, Celine discovers the city’s dark secrets amidst her growing affection for the convent’s leader, Sébastien Saint Germain.

As she struggles to understand her surroundings, a serial killer targeting young girls moves into town. With the number of victims rising, Sébastien soon becomes one of the prime suspects. Celine is soon drawn into the drama, investigating the matter herself. This move takes her through a path riddled with danger.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen (Red Queen, 1)

Red Queen is centered on Mare Barrow, a young girl from a world dominated by two kinds of people, superhero-like people with silver blood who rule over mortals with red blood. 

Those with silver blood possess magical powers that give them an advantage over the rest. Mare, a red blood, believed she was normal until she discovered her magical abilities in a room full of silvers. Her rare capabilities force the king to create a ruse that has Mare pretending to be a lost silver princess so that she can marry one of his sons.

This lie sets precedence for a life of deceit where Mare has to work as a double agent to supply information to the Scarlet Guard, a resistance army. Her stay in the castle is further complicated when she develops feeling for both of the king’s sons. Mare’s tough decisions in life are similar to those Bella has to make when she turns into a vampire.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver

Grace is a brave young girl who has spent most of her life interacting with wolves that live in the forest behind her house. Over the years, she has grown fond of them, watching them over winter and even naming a yellow-eyed wolf as hers. Unbeknown to her, a human called Sam is trapped in the body of a wolf during winter. 

The story takes a new turn when Sam and Grace meet during summer, and Grace recognizes Sam’s unique yellow eyes. With winter approaching, the two need to find a way to keep Sam human. 

This story will have you hooked and questioning the meaning of humanity and true love. The story mirrors the love story of Edward and Bella as they look past their differences to grow their love.

Dark Lover by J. R. Ward

Dark Lover

Dark Lover is the first book in J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. The story centers on the last pure vampire in the world whose mission is to avenge the death of his parents. In his pursuit of justice, he falls in love with Beth, a half-human, half-vampire.

The story brings up the story of a group of vampires bound by blood who are struggling to survive in a world where they are hunted. Amidst all these, the two young lovers try to make things work. The bond and loyalty these characters share mirrors the bond you see in the Cullen family.

Fallen by Lauren Kate

See on Amazon

Fallen is a Twilight-esque story that shares a storyline with Hush Hush. These novels feature angels with love triangles that will leave you torn between two charming men battling for the affection of the lead character. 

Fallen makes it to the list of books like Twilight because of its teenage tropes and star-crossed lovers. Fallen introduces Daniel Grigori; a fallen angel cursed to fall in love with Lucinda Prince every seventeen years forever.

Despite their fated love, the protagonists are bound to hurt one another. The story becomes more interesting when Cameron Briel, Daniel’s brother and a fallen angel, takes an interest in Luce. Like TwilightFallen was adapted into a film.

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

The Host

The Host is not your regular vampire novel, but its sci-fi romance storyline will spark an interest in you, especially after reading Twilight

This novel talks about two creatures whose lives are linked; Melanie Stryder, a human stuck to her mortal life, and Wanderer, an alien host living in Melanie’s body. Stephanie takes readers through the life of Melanie as she struggles against Wanderer’s hold, showing memories of her life, including those of the man she loves, Jared.

The story takes a turn when Wanderer falls in love with Jared through Melanie’s memories and decides to find him. This captivating story talks about a love triangle and a fight to save humanity.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A Discovery of Witches (Movie Tie-In): A Novel (All Souls Series)

If you prefer trilogy books like Twilight, A Discovery of Witches is right for you. It’s the first installment of Harkness’ All Souls trilogy. The story revolves around Dina Bishop, a renowned historian and professor at Yale. Dian has always known of her witch heritage but rejected the practice after the death of her parents at a young age. However, she is forced to embrace it when she finds a coveted manuscript. Deborah takes readers through the life of Diana as she engages in a forbidden romance with Matthew Clairmont, a vampire.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy 10th Anniversary Edition

Mead’s Vampire Academy series takes you through the exciting life of teenagers in a remote boarding school. Unlike regular schools, this one is for the elite supernaturals such as vampires and half-vampires. 

The story is set in a world where every vampire has a half-vampire guardian called Dhampirs. The protagonist, Rose, is a half-vampire trained to protect her best friend, Lissa Dragomir, the last of the Dragomir line.

The story takes you through action-filled events as Rose is subjected to intense training to protect the royal family’s lineage. Readers are also treated to the blossoming love between Rose and her trainer Dimitri. Vampire Academy is one of the best books like Twilight with political intrigue, high school gossip, and supernatural wonder.

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush

If you want a break from vampires, you can treat yourself to Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. The story follows the same plotline as Twilight but with angels. 

Hush Hush opens up to Nora Grey, a high-school student who spends most of her time alone at home. The story takes a turn when Nora meets the mysterious new student Patch Cipriano who is a loner. After meeting Patch, Nora is miraculously saved from a near-death experience, only to find herself in the middle of an ancient war between immortal and fallen angels. This story is similar to the war between the werewolves and the vampires in Twilight.

Conclusion

There are several books like Twilight, each with a captivating story to tell. Whether it be about fallen angels, demons, or a beast that turns into a human, these novels are certainly great choices for Twilight saga fans!


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-09-10

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here