12 Books Like Wheel Of Time: Epic Fantasy Books Worth Reading

So, you have finished reading Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series and now wondering if there are other books in the fantasy genre that is as immersive as WOT. Wonder no more. These 11 epic fantasy books like Wheel of Time will take you through different worlds of elves, magic, dragons, and an epic battle between good versus evil. 

1. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

This publication is the first novel that introduces readers to Tolkien’s fictional world. The plot follows Bilbo Baggins as he goes on a quest to recover a part of the treasure seized by the dragon Smaug. While traveling through Rivendell, Mirkwood, and the Misty Mountains, Bilbo meets dwarves, wizards, eagles, and goblins.

In case you’re wondering, yes, The Hobbit is the prelude to The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, another Tolkien masterpiece.

The Hobbit: Pocket Edition

2. The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

Already read The Hobbit? You can start reading Stephen King’s The Dark Tower series, which is also one of the books like Wheel of Time.

The protagonist in this book is Roland, The Gunslinger, of Gilead. The setting is in a fantasy world in the Old West but has distinct parallels to our world. 

Roland is constantly searching for a man he knows as Walter but is commonly called The Man in Black. While moving through life, Roland meets with numerous monstrous creatures, a woman known as Alice and a child named Jake. As the story continues, Roland gets into a conflict that endangers the fate of the cosmos.

The Gunslinger(The Dark Tower I)

3. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson completed the novel by Robert Jordan after the latter’s unfortunate and untimely death. Having this in mind, it makes sense to indulge in the first novel – The Way of Kings: The Stormlight Archives

The plot focuses on an endless war set in the Shattered Plains. The protagonist is Kaladin, who was once a medical apprentice. However, in the story, Kaladin is an enslaved person participating in a war where his leaders consider him dispensable. The high prince Dalinar has visions that make him question his sanity. Nonetheless, Kaladin battles his prejudice and decides to save his fellow prisoners.

Books like Wheel of Time, including this one, have a huge cast of characters helpful in creating a new fantasy world filled with intricate details.

The Way of Kings, Part One (Stormlight Archive)

4. The Poppy War by R.F Kuang

If you want to read books like Wheel of Time which is also a series, R.F. Kuang’s The Poppy War is an excellent choice.

This trilogy is set in a fantasy world called Nikara Empire. As you read the book, you will meet an improvised orphan named Rin. She surprises everyone by passing the Keju, a test in the empire used to discover brilliant young people who would study at the prestigious academies in the empire. Rin goes to study at Sinegard, a military school located in Nikan.

At the school, she develops shamanic powers that she might use to save her people. Similar to Jordan’s work, an unlikely hero becomes the hope for her people in winning the next Poppy war.

Poppy War

5. The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams

Our list of books like Wheel of Time wouldn’t be complete with Tad Williams’ The Dragonbone, the first book in the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series.

The plot revolves around two characters, a boy called Simon and princess Miramele, and they must save the kingdom from the undead sorcerer Storm King of Osten Ard.

In the past, mortals had attacked, destroyed and claimed the king’s homeland and now they want to take it back. Despite being frail, Simon must take up the mantle and lead the kingdom towards salvation. In contrast, both Jordan and Williams use an unlikely hero to save the rest of the population from imminent doom.

The Dragonbone Chair: Memory, Sorrow & Thorn Book 1

6. The Name of The Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle) by Patrick Rothfuss

The protagonist in this book is called Kvothe, a once-famous musician, arcanist, wizard and adventurer. The plot starts with Kvothe living in hiding. While going about his duties, Kvothe rescues the Chronicler and decides to narrate his story to him.

The first book is a compilation of all his adventures, and he recites them on the first day. The story then follows an intimate account of his childhood days in a crime-ridden neighborhood. He eventually enrolls in a school of magic and becomes an extraordinary wizard. However, he is implicated in the manslaughter of a king.

Rothfuss and Jordan created works full of thrilling magical adventures with a hint of mystery from the first page to the last.

The Name of the Wind

7. The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Like Wheel of Time, Samantha Shannon’s The Priory of the Orange Tree has a vast and detailed world, strong characters, and a captivating storyline.

This epic fantasy story revolves around magic and dragons – yes, dragons! The setting is in a divided Inys ruled by Queen Sabran the Ninth, who must produce an heir to secure her kingdom’s future. And with assassins closing in on her, time is simply not on her side, and The House of Berethnet, which has ruled the kingdom for thousands of years, may finally see its end. But little does she know that her lady in waiting, Ead Duryan, is actually a spy that uses forbidden magic to protect and keep her alive.

In the East is dragon rider Tané who has been training as a dragonrider since she was a child. And she could lose everything she worked for when she decided not to report a seafarer from the West.

This epic story from Shannon is a stand-alone book but its carefully woven storyline, strong characters, and captivating storytelling will undoubtedly fill your WOT longing. 

The Priory of the Orange Tree

8. Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed

The setting is in the Middle East, during the time of the Caliphate. Doctor Adoulla Makshlood, a Ghul hunter, is retiring. However, when one family of his friend gets assassinated, together with his sidekicks Adoulla and Zania, he gets back to work to find the killer. As the story develops, a power struggle ensues between the Falcon Prince and Khalif.

Throne of the Crescent Moon

9. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

This novel is one of the most popular books of all time. It even inspired movie trilogies and a cult following of movie enthusiasts and avid fantasy readers. 

The series follows the perilous adventure of Frodo Baggins, Sam Gamgee, Gandalf, and the Fellowship of the Ring through the Middle Earth to destroy Sauron’s most coveted possession, the Rings of Power or the One Ring, which Sauron imbued with his power to rule them all.

If you’ve read or intend to read The Hobbit, you’ll know why this powerful ring landed on the hands of Bilbo Baggins and then Frodo.  

Jorden’s first book in the Wheel of Time series derives heavy inspiration from Tolkein’s book. The parallel is that both books are about an indifferent young hero separated from his home and taken in by a powerful wizard.

The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings Boxed Set

10. A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar

This book is also part of a completed book series. The story begins with a boy called Jevick, a merchant’s son. Jevick dreams of visiting Olondria, much different from his small and dull town. His tutor has told him different stories of the adventurous life in the cosmopolitan.

After the sad demise of his father, Jevick travels to Olondria, but what he finds is entirely different from his expectations. The tales didn’t prepare him for his experience in the city. Jevick is amazed by the new sights and endless books. However, he gets a visitor, a young illiterate ghost, and becomes implicated in a religious struggle that may cause a war.

Samatar introduces four new characters in the second book as the plot further develops.

A Stranger in Olondria: a novel (Olondria, 1)

11. Codex Alera by Jim Butcher

This is another completed series about the life of a young man named Tavi who has not elemental (fury) crafting abilities. The series is loosely based on the Roman Empire and how an empire’s people become complacent with the lifestyle provided by the empire.

The series was the result of a challenge by a member of the Del Rey Online Writer’s Workshop who challenged Butcher to take two lame ideas and make a story. Butcher took the ideas given, Pokemon and Lost Roman Legion, and crated the Codex Alera series.

Furies of Calderon (Codex Alera, Book 1)

See on Amazon

12. Dragonlance by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Originally conceived as a shared universe by Laura and Tracy Hickman that eventually expanded to a series of gaming modules, board games, a series of novels, and other licensed products.

The novels have turned into a series of trilogies beginning with the Chronicles trilogy.

Dragons of Autumn Twilight: The Dragonlance Chronicles

See on Amazon

Which Fantasy Series Like Wheel of Time Did We Miss?

Books like Wheel of Time are popular since it takes you through different adventures and worlds while keeping you entertained. If you have read an epic fantasy novel that didn’t make our list, leave us a comment. Happy reading as you move from one adventure to the next!


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-09-10

7 COMMENTS

  1. Surprised to see Codex Alera and not The Dresden Files. Also would be remiss to exclude Discworld, A Song of Ice and Fire, and Malazan.

  2. I liked Pegasus vs Scorpio by Paisley Summer. On Amazon. Nice researched sci fi good reading for teens .loved the characters.

  3. I’ve read many of the series listed here – good choices!

    This my list of high fantasy series (a few start out in our universe, then move to another). My criteria, they must be truly epic, and they must also be good literature! (No pulp or hack writers on this list)

    Ursula Le Guin’s Earthsea series

    Kate Elliott’s Crown of Stars series

    Guy Gavriel Kay’s Fionavar Trilogy (starts out in our universe, but moves to another – also, Ysabel, a sequel set in our world)

    C J Cherryh’s Fortress series

    Lois McMaster Bujold’s Penric and Desdemona series

    Carol Berg’s Collegia Magica series, and also her Lighthouse duology, and her Sanctuary duology

    V E Scwab’s London trilogy (with a sequel coming out eventually) set in an alternate earth universe

    Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, plus a duology (at least so far) set in the same universe (starts out in our universe) – the Strange the Dreamer duology. She plans several series set in this universe, which eventually will all be tied together

    Andrzej Sapkowski’s Witcher Saga (of course!)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here