11 Books Like Percy Jackson

Finding it hard to find books like Percy Jackson? Well, you are in luck. These books scratch the same itch as Rick Riordan’s young adult fantasy series that took such a refreshingly original spin on Greek mythology. One of these novels even received a stamp of approval from Rick Riordan himself!

1. The Raven Boys

Maggie Stiefvater deals with death in a highly original way in her book, The Raven Boys. This is just one part of The Raven Cycle, a series of books like Percy Jackson, centered on a group of teens from Virginia. The story also heavily involves their mother, who has the gift of clairvoyance.

Everyone in this series deals with major changes – blended with the supernatural – and each character is unique and fully fleshed out. So, no matter who you are, there’s someone you’ll identify within the pages of The Raven Boys.

The Raven Boys

See on Amazon

2. Artemis Fowl

The main character of Artemis Fowl isn’t like other genius criminals for one simple reason: he’s twelve years old. But that doesn’t stop him from crafting an ingenious – or foolhardy – plan to get his hands on some fairy gold. Unfortunately, this brilliant scheme doesn’t go off without a hitch. It turns out there are ample consequences in store for this supernatural caper.

Eoin Colfer published Artemis Fowl in 2001, later receiving the Bistro Merit Award among other well-deserved accolades for the work of literary genius. What readers love about Artemis Fowl are the characters and the narrative style. You’ll likely find yourself wanting to grab some fairy gold of your own by the time you’re through.

Artemis Fowl

See on Amazon

3. Aru Shah and the End of Time

Here’s an excellent dive into the mythology that draws from Hindu culture. It’s a gripping tale about a girl who accidentally releases the spirit of a demon at the museum where her mom happens to work – a highly relatable situation for just about anyone.

If you’re on the lookout for something with a female protagonist, here’s an excellent pick for you. Aru Shah and the End of Time was published in 2018 and written by Roshani Chokshi. She has since received numerous awards for this story, not the least of which including the Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Fiction.

This book is particularly special to Riordan and Percy Jackson fans since this tale has received the full stamp of approval from Rick Riordan himself.

Roshani Chokshi’s work was brought before Riordan, who was floored by the narrative. And besides just endorsing the work, Rick Riordan also penned the book’s foreword. So if you want books similar to Percy Jackson, this is a great place to start.

Aru Shah and the End of Time

See on Amazon

4. Harry Potter

If there’s ever been a book series that has redefined the children’s, fantasy, and young adult genres all in one fell swoop, look no further than Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It’s hard to believe that the first book in this epic seven-novel series came out in 1997.

Regardless of the contemporary behavior of the author, it’s hard to dispute that the journeys of the young witches and wizards in this magical world hold countless lessons and precious experiences that no reader should miss.

Harry Potter

See on Amazon

5. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

Fans of Rick Riordan can’t go wrong with more Rick Riordan. In 2015, the Percy Jackson author shifted gears a bit and turned his sights to the mythology of Nordic cultures.

The main character of this Goodreads Choice Awards recipient is a homeless teenager who is constantly struggling just to survive. Little does he know that an epic destiny is waiting for him just around the corner. Incidentally, this story takes place in the same world as The Kane Chronicles and The Camp Half-Blood Chronicles – for those interested in continuity.

See on Amazon

6. Akata Witch

This book by Nnedi Okorafor is about a young Nigerian girl. The character notably has albinism, and throughout the story, she learns how this quality leads to some special powers that she didn’t even know she had.

This novel came out in 2011 and is a great way to learn about folklore and cosmology. This title even made the grade for the American Library Association’s Top Ten Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults.

Akata Witch

See on Amazon

7. The 39 Clues

In 2008, a variety of authors contributed to this fascinatingly fun series that never even has the chance to get boring. The books have made it on various bestseller lists, including USA Today, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal.

You’ll definitely recognize one author, though – Rick Riordan wrote The Maze of Bones, the first in the series. This definitely secures it a spot on the list of books similar to Percy Jackson.

The 39 Clues is a whirlwind of an adventure that involves a pair of siblings who take part in the greatest scavenger hunt on Earth. In so doing, they learn about history – and just about every other subject imaginable.

The 39 Clues

See on Amazon

8. The Thief 

This story follows a criminal who is in prison. His crime? Thievery.

And incidentally, this is precisely the reason why he’s been removed from the d. The job that our outlaw hero has been recruited for involves stealing from the very king who had kept him in chains. But it turns out it’s not easy to see who’s trustworthy – and who’s out for all they can steal.

The Thief 

See on Amazon

9. The False Prince

This book by Jennifer A. Nielsen was published in 2012. It tells the story of an orphan child hired for an unusual job — making people believe that he is royalty. It’s a risky business, but the rewards for success are great.

Readers will love the quirky and good-humored nature of The False Prince’s protagonist. You’ll love experiencing the world of this scheming, dangerous plot through such a spirited and witty young character. But will he be able to keep up this ruse?

The False Prince

See on Amazon

10. The Storm Runner

An instant classic by J.C. Cervantes that first hit the shelves in 2018, it’s the book that took home both the Zia Book Award and the New Mexico Book Award.

This tale concerns a kid who has an irresistible fondness for volcanoes. This wouldn’t be a problem for many young boys, but this tale’s protagonist finds that it leads him into the realms of the Mayan and Aztec.

Through our young volcano-minded hero, readers have the opportunity to explore rich and exciting mythologies. The story really starts to heat up when this volcano boy finally realizes that the explosive mountain he loves best is the home of a rather godly figure.

One special quality about this book is that the main character has a disability. This makes it an even more valuable read for all types of people, whether they see things from a different perspective or see the hero in themselves.

The Storm Runner

See on Amazon

Consensus: Reader’s Choice

If you loved the modern epic quest told in Rick Riordan’s hugely popular series, you’re bound to get something out of these other books like Percy Jackson. Now it’s just up to you to pick the title that stands out to you the most – and discover where the story leads you.


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-09-10

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here