10 Books Like Harry Potter

Harry Potter fans rejoice. These ten books like Harry Potter are as magical and exciting as J.K Rowling’s novels! And, it doesn’t matter if you are a Hufflepuff, Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Slytherin, or a muggle. These books will appeal to any reader who loves fantasy novels! We even found a book that combines paranormal and fantasy!

1. The Lightning Thief 

The Lightning Thief tops many lists of books like Harry Potter, and for a good reason – the protagonist Percy Jackson is like Harry Potter! He uncovers that he is Poseidon’s son and must go on an epic mission to save the world from destruction. Plus, like Harry Potter, there’s plenty of magic, mystery, and exciting characters in The Lightning Thief!

The Lightning Thief

See on Amazon

2. Shadow and Bone 

Shadow and Bone is a crowd favorite for books as good as Harry Potter. It has elements that make a good fantasy novel – an exciting magical world and a strong protagonist.

The story follows Alina, who can walk on the walls of buildings. When an event occurs in the dark forests outside her home country, she realizes that there is more to her abilities than meets the eye.

Shadow and Bone

See on Amazon

3. City of Bones 

If you’re looking for a book series that’s just as magical and captivating as Harry Potter, then you should check out Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones series by Cassandra Clare.

Like the Harry Potter series, the story follows Clary Fray, who discovers she has extraordinary powers that can protect the world from evil. Packed with action, suspense, and adventure, City of Bones will surely keep you on the edge of your seat!

City of Bones

See on Amazon

4. The Golden Compass 

The Golden Compass, a trilogy series by Philip Pullman, is an exciting read like Harry Potter. It follows the story of a young girl named Lyra as she travels through a parallel universe to save her friend. The entire book contains plenty of action, exciting characters (armored bear and animal companions called a daemon!), and a captivating fantasy world.

Does The Golden Compass ring a bell? You might have probably watched its 2007 movie version.

The Golden Compass

See on Amazon

5. Sabriel

Another book like Harry Potter is Sabriel. It features an unlikely young hero who must travel into the land of the dead to rescue her father, who was held captive by the evil necromancer Abhorsen. Along the way, she must overcome dangerous obstacles and powerful enemies, all while learning about her magical powers.

Sabriel

See on Amazon

6. The Name of the Wind

If you’re looking for spellbinding books like Harry Potter, then The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is a must-read. It follows the life of Kvothe—an adventurer, musician, and wizard with a vast amount of knowledge—as he tells his life story to a scribe named Bast. The Name of the Wind is the first book of the highly-coveted The Kingkiller Chronicle series.

The Name of the Wind

See on Amazon

7. Artemis Fowl

You might not have heard of Artemis Fowl, but it is a book with many similarities to Harry Potter. It involves magic, mystery, adventure, and children learning about themselves. But, unlike Harry Potter, Artemis Fowl pits humans against fairies.

Artemis Fowl

See on Amazon

8. The Magicians

The Magicians by Lev Grossman is about a young man who discovers he has a fantastic talent for magic. But this isn’t Hogwarts; it’s the world of Fillory, which Quentin learned through his books as a child.

His life changes forever when he finds himself transported to this other world where nothing is what it seems, and danger lurks behind every corner. And just like Harry Potter, Quentin learns that sometimes bad things happen to good people, and we must do our best even when we don’t know what to do.

The Magicians

See on Amazon

9. Ninth House 

If you love paranormal, thriller, and fantasy, Leigh Bardugo’s Ninth House should be on top of your to-be-read list! Stephen King said that it is “impossible to put down.” It is also “one of the best fantasy novels” according to The Magicians trilogy author Lev Grossman.

So, what is it about?

It follows university dropout Galaxy “Alex” Stern who is the only survivor of a horrific murder. At the hospital, she is offered a fresh start in Yale, but she’ll need to monitor eight secret societies (houses) that deal with dark occult magic. And oh, Alex sees Grays aka ghosts.

Ninth House

See on Amazon

10. Neverwhere 

Neverwhere follows Richard Mayhew, an ordinary London businessman. One day, he is thrust into the magical world of London Below, where he goes on to fight for his life and the lives of others.

It’s not hard to see why people compare this story to Harry Potter or Narnia. Both stories have young heroes who find themselves pulled into another world against their will, and both involve epic battles between good and evil forces.

Neverwhere

See on Amazon

Conclusion

J.K Rowling’s series may have ended in 2007, but there are other books like Harry Potter that can fill your reading needs and keep you entertained! Hopefully, our list of 10 books like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson for adults can get you started finding your next favorite book!


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-03-03

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here