13 Books Like Pride and Prejudice

Longing for a book that is like Pride and Prejudice? These 13 books like Pride and Prejudice are engaging, captivating stories that will keep you hooked until the very end. Plus, each of these books has its unique twist on the classic love story. 

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

This book is about a young woman who starts as an orphan and becomes a governess. Throughout the story, she encounters many obstacles but ultimately finds love and happiness. Like Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre is a captivating and engaging read.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

See on Amazon

2. Pride: A Pride & Prejudice Remix by Ibi Zoboi 

Pride: A Pride & Prejudice Remix by Ibi Zoboi is a captivating retelling of Pride and Prejudice’s classic novel. Set in Brooklyn, this modern-day retelling follows Darcy as he moves from the affluent suburbs to the borough where he grew up.

When he stumbles upon a street art installation dedicated to Elizabeth Bennet, he becomes intrigued by her and begins to understand why she’s so important to the community. As they get to know each other better, they must overcome their own biases and preconceived notions about one another to find love.

Pride: A Pride & Prejudice Remix by Ibi Zoboi 

See on Amazon

3. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility follows the lives of two sisters who must navigate through complicated relationships and find love in a society that values marriage above all else. The Dashwood sisters are opposites who fall in love with the same man. When Marianne falls head over heels for John Willoughby, his unsuitable reputation compromises her sense of privacy and safety from gossipers. At the same time, Elinor admits that she keeps romantic disappointment hidden even amongst those closest to her, like sister Margaret. With sharp wit and humor, Austen explores the importance of both sense and sensibility in finding happiness.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

See on Amazon

4. Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson 

If you’re looking for books similar to Pride and Prejudice, Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson is another excellent option. It’s an engaging and captivating novel that will keep you hooked until the very end. Plus, the romance is swoon-worthy.

When Marianne’s mother dies, life forces her to live with her grandmother in Bath. She gets the chance to enjoy her freedom, but things quickly change once love strikes. And, she falls head over heels before even getting a chance at knowing him.

Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson 

See on Amazon

5. The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer  

The Convenient Marriage is a captivating novel similar to Pride and Prejudice. It follows the story of two individuals who are forced to marry each other but soon discover they are perfect for one another. The Earl of Rule is engaged to marry a daughter off the Winwood’s, but he doesn’t love her. Instead, he marries Horatia because she’s intelligent and quick-witted; also, despite being just as much or more than her sister’s inheritance.

Although things are rough, the pair continue together until eventually becoming lovers themselves. This book is well-written and engaging, making it a must-read for fans looking for books like Pride and Prejudice.

The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer  

See on Amazon

6. Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin

Ayesha at Last is a beautiful, engaging, and romantic-comedy novel that follows the story of Ayesha. Although she is lonely and doesn’t believe in an arranged marriage, she is attracted to the conservative and judgmental Khalid. So, when she receives the news of a surprise engagement between her younger cousin and Khalid, she must face her true feelings.

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin

See on Amazon

7. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton 

The House of Mirth is a captivating novel about the lavish lifestyle of New York’s socialites in the early 1900s. It follows Lily Bart, an attractive and well-connected woman who lacks marriage due to her financially unstable background. She tries to fix this problem but fails until she meets two men: one from above (Simon), which brings them together again; another outside their class (Lawrence). The characters are rich, beautiful, and privileged, but underlying darkness threatens to destroy them all.

The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton 

See on Amazon

8. Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

Elizabeth Camden’s Against the Tide tells the story of a woman who must overcome her family’s scandals to find love. When Lydia Pallas meets Alexander Banebridge, she is captivated by his charm and driven to help him stop the flow of drugs through Boston Harbor. But as their relationship grows more complicated with each passing day for both parties involved, it becomes clear that there can be only one outcome: victory or death at Bane’s hands. The author uses richly developed characters and a fascinating plot. Just like Pride and Prejudice, this novel is a must-read for anyone looking for an engaging historical romance.

Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

See on Amazon

9. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier  

Rebecca is a captivating novel that follows the story of a woman who marries a wealthy widower and moves into his estate. So why is this similar to Pride and Prejudice?

The unnamed protagonist also deals with a great deal of prejudice and discrimination because she was middle class and used to work as a paid companion.

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier  

See on Amazon

10. The Enchanted April by Elizabeth Von Arnim 

If you’re a fan of Pride and Prejudice, then you’ll love The Enchanted April. In this book, Elizabeth von Arnim creates a light and pastoral novel inspired by her experience touring the Italian Riviera. The author fills it with interconnected narratives of four unique women living in present-day England who seek social connection instead of exclusivity as they vacation together once upon a time. So, it is no surprise this work prefigured modern solidarity movements. Like Austen’s classic, von Arnim’s book is witty and engaging, with characters you can’t help but root for.

The Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim 

See on Amazon

11. Emma by Jane Austen 

Emma is a captivating novel written by Jane Austen that has many similarities to Pride and Prejudice. Jane Austen’s Emma is a book about the inner turmoil of someone who feels like they don’t fit in anywhere. Lady Emma becomes an outsider even while living on her family estate because everyone seems to have more money and status than she does. This consciousness makes it easy for readers throughout periods past as well present-day scanners, especially women, can relate with how often we’ve felt alone despite having friends/family around us at all times.

Emma by Jane Austen 

See on Amazon

12. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 

Little Women is a captivating novel that tells the story of four sisters and their journey to adulthood. When their father joins the war, the four March sisters find themselves relying on one another for support. They vary in personality and interests. The characters are well-developed and likable, making for an enjoyable reading experience.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 

See on Amazon

13. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

If you’re looking for a novel with engaging characters, captivating plot lines, and beautiful writing, then you’ll love Wuthering Heights. New readers perceive Wuthering Heights as an intense love story, but it’s more a revenge plot in reality.

The main character Heathcliff rises through the ranks within his adoptive family until he becomes their servant. He then runs away from her bride-to-be Emily Bronte, gets wealthy and educated overseas before coming back with plans for revenge on those that wronged him.

Emily Brontë’s masterpiece is full of unforgettable scenes and powerful emotions that are sure to leave a lasting impression on you.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë 

See on Amazon

Conclusion

These books like Pride and Prejudice have it all. Whether it’s a captivating love story or romance fueled by circumstances, these books will keep you engaged. So, be sure to check them out.


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-03-03

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here