11 Sci-Fi Books Like The Martian

If you are a fan of Andy Weir’s humble beginnings and astronaut Mark Watney’s journey to survive on his own, these books like The Martian are what you need. So, wear your spacesuit or radiation suit and buckle up. We will take you on an existing space mission to discover books like The Martian.  

Spin by Robert Charles Wilson

Spin (Spin, 1)

First on our list of books like The Martian is Robert Charles Wilson’s The Spin, and it takes science fiction to a new level. At the start, Tyler Dupree narrates an account of when he and his friends witnessed the moon and stars disappearing.

A bubble has been placed around the Earth that makes time go slower. The universe itself is also aging very fast, making the sun gradually perish. As this happens, people attempt to make sense of it all and accept the fate that the catastrophe may cause.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series by Douglas Adams

The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

First debuting in 1978, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy book series includes five books. Unlike Weir’s The Martian, Adam’s novel is a lighthearted intergalactic adventure that follows the last surviving man Arthur Dent and his best friend, Ford Prefect, who happens to be an alien.

Besides The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, you can also read Adam’s sci-fi novels, including The Restaurant at the End of the Universe, the Universe, and Everything, So Long and Thanks for All the Fish, and Mostly Harmless.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Wayfarers, 1)

Becky Chambers’s 2014 novel, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, is about a space crew aboard the Wayfarer, which has set out to construct space tunnels that will connect far galactic distances.

As the story begins, Rosemary, the newest member, is introduced to other crew memberswith human-like characteristics. While acclimating to the new Wayfarer way of life, the ship’s captain accepts an offer to create a space tunnel that will connect to the galactic core of space.

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

Project Hail Mary

Project Hail Mary is another novel written by Andy Weir. This futuristic novel centers around a teacher-astronaut (Ryland Grace), who overcomes a coma but sustains amnesia.

Gradually, Ryland remembers things like his name and his occupation. He also recalls that he is the sole survivor of a failed mission to eliminate the Astrophage infestation from destroying the Earth.

This infestation makes him become 12 light-years away in the solar system Tau Ceti. He needs to find a way to prevent the human race from extinction.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven

The Station Eleven novel is an ambitious story surrounding post-apocalyptic events and the near extinction of the human race caused by a superflu.

At the opening of the book, the King Lear play is underway, and celebrity Arthur Leander suddenly dies as the performance continues. This marks the beginning of the superflu spreading throughout Toronto. Eventually, it went around the world overnight.

This leaves only a handful of survivors, including Kirstin Raymonde, an actress performing in King Lear’s play.

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin (1987-03-15)

As The Left Hand of Darkness begins, it sees an envoy made up of Ekumen worlds documenting the experiences witnessed on the alien planet known as Winter.

During the first couple of years into his mission, the alien people become suspicious of Ai and eventually become afraid of him. This worrying state is brought on because the AI cannot change his sexuality. On the other, the alien species do not have an assigned gender and can choose their sex randomly.

Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) by Kim Stanley Robinson

Red Mars (Mars Trilogy)

For those looking for books like The Martian that cover intergalactic voyage, technology, and a heart-stopping plotline, Red Mars is also a top choice.

Red Mars, the first book in the Mars trilogy by Kim Standley Robinson, follows one hundred colonists’ attempts to terraform, colonize the red planet, and transform it like Earth. As time passes, the once united colonists are divided into factions, each with a different goal in mind.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

Robinson Crusoe

If you are looking for books like The Martian that talk about loneliness, you should pick up Daniel Defoe’s Robison Crusoe.

The protagonist, Robinson Crusoe, is alone on a desert island for close to 30 years. He has the necessary supplies salvaged from his shipwreck, allowing him to have a living situation for the long haul.

In the end, Robinson escapes the island with help from mutineers who had visited the island. Once in England, Robinson realizes that he has become wealthy despite his long absence.

The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu

The Three-Body Problem

Like other books like The Martian, Cixiun Liu’s The Three-Body Problem is innovative yet exciting.

In 2014, Tor Booke published the book´s English translation. After that, The Three-Body Problem won the Hugo Award and a nomination for a Nebula Award. Both were for best novel.

At the beginning of the novel, we see a secret operation from China being developed. The operation’s goal is to gain total control of the country by maintaining a dominant communist government.

Through its Red Base, the leaders attempt to be superior in the technology they are developing.

Working on his own, the head researcher attempts to utilize Red Base’s technology to explore, find, and communicate with alien life.

Z for Zachariah by Robert C. O’Brien

Z for Zachariah

With a nuclear holocaust occurring worldwide, a survivor known as Ann Burden is now all alone after her family left the valley they live in. She eventually carries on with her life on the farm and maintains a daily diary.

Then, one day she sees a wagon being pulled by an individual in a biohazard suit. She notices him stopping constantly, and as he enters the valley, he takes the suit off. After a while, the man sets up an area for a tent that is placed next to the house.

Although Ann is happy to see someone, she abandons her home and hides in a cave to keep an eye on the man. She notices that the man never uses the house.

Artemis by Andy Weir

Artemis: A Novel

The last of the books like The Martian is also an Andy Weir novel, which is aggressive in nature and depicts a heist that includes a heroine that you can´t help but like.

The plotline behind Artemis is based on lunar crime occurring in a settlement established on the moon. The crime involves misbehavior, corruption, and gangsters. It follows the main character, “Jazz,” who is familiar with welding and metallurgy, although she is a known smuggler and porter.

Conclusion

Having books like The Martian gives you more options to enjoy reading the science fiction genre. Our recommendations are filled with suspense and adventure, transporting you to a whole new galaxy!


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-03-03

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here