Grant County Thrillers Books in Order

Author Biographies and Other Books

Karin Slaughter Biography

Karin Slaughter is a bestselling American crime, mystery, and thriller author. In this Karin Slaughter Biography, you will find she is responsible for the popular Grant County series. The first book in the series, “Blindsighted,” was published in 2001. The Grant County series follows the husband and wife team of Georgia medical examiner Sara Linton and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver as they solve gruesome crimes in a small town. Slaughter also has penned books outside of the series, which has earned her awards and accolades.

Born on January 6, 1971 in Covington, Georgia, Karin Slaughter grew up in Jonesboro, Georgia in the Lake Spivey area and attended Morrow High School. She currently has written approximately twenty-one novels that have sold over forty million copies and were published in 120 countries. In addition to The Grant County Series, she has written a series called The Will Trent Series that had its most recent offering published in 2020. The Will Trent series features Special Agent Will Trent and his partner Faith Mitchell as they work for the Georgia Bureau of Investigation in Atlanta. Slaughter hasn’t always been a writer, though.

After high school, she attended Georgia State University for college and took several odd jobs to support herself. She was a designer and a salesperson - just to name a few - before she began working at a sign shop. Eventually, she opened her own sign business.

However, she wanted to be a writer from an early age. In fact, Slaughter wrote her first book at the age of six about her father’s co-worker who had polio. She called the book “Rolleo with Polio” and made six copies before her father punished her with spanking for playing with the scissors. This did not deter her. Slaughter credits her father with her interest in writing and storytelling. Also, she credits a ninth grade teacher with encouraging her and being the first person to say she was a good writer. Ward taught her the craft of writing.

Slaughter continued to write, but she could not sell a novel on the Civil War. Some manuscripts went unpublished. She said, “I think you have to write a lot of bad books before you write a publishable book.” Despite rejection, she kept writing. Finally, in 2001 when she was around thirty, her debut novel and the first book of the Grant County series was published. “Blindsighted” launched her career. Slaughter’s second book made the New York Times Bestseller List.

She has received several awards like The Crime Writer Association’s Dagger Award for Best Debut Novel, The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, Suspense Magazine Best of 2010, Georgia Author of the Year Award in 2019, and The Ned Kelly Award in 2020.

Overview of Books by Karin Slaughter

The Grant County Series

These are novels that follow the husband and wife duo of medical examiner Sara Linton and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver as they solve crimes.

  • “Blindsighted” (2001)
  • “Kisscut” (2002)
  • “A Faint Cold Fear” (2003)
  • “Indelible” (2004)
  • “Faithless” (2005)
  • “Beyond Reach” (2007), “Skin Privilege” (UK title)

The Will Trent Series

This series is about Special Agents Will Trent and Faith Mitchell as they investigate crimes in Atlanta.

  • “Triptych” (2006)
  • “Fractured” (2008)
  • “Undone” (2009), Genesis (UK/Australia Title) - This novel features Sara Linton of the Grant County series.
  • “Broken” (2010) - This novel features Sara Linton of the Grant County series.
  • “Fallen” (2011)
  • “Snatched” (2012, ebook novella)
  • “Criminal” (2012)
  • “Busted” (2013, ebook novella)
  • “Unseen” (2013)
  • “The Kept Woman” (2016)
  • “The Last Widow” (2019)
  • “The Silent Wife” (2020)

Other Books

  • “Like A Charm” (2004; editor) - This is a short story anthology that features several authors, including Slaughter.
  • “Martin Misunderstood” (2008)
  • “Thorn in My Side” (2011; ebook novella)
  • “Cop Town” (2014)
  • “Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes” (2015) (novella) (prequel to “Pretty Girls”)
  • “Pretty Girls” (2015)
  • “Last Breath” (2017) (novella) (prequel to “The Good Daughter”)
  • “The Good Daughter” (2017)
  • “Pieces of Her” (2018) - A psychological thriller about a woman who learns about the hidden side of her mother.
  • “False Witness” (2021)
  • “Girl, Forgotten” (2022)

Karin Slaughter goes on book tours in other countries every year. She also appeared on an episode of the game show "Holey Moley" that aired on June 4, 2020.

See more books by Karin Slaughter

Table of Contents