Cormoran Strike Books in Order

2. The Silkworm (2014)
3. Career of Evil (2015)
4. Lethal White (2018)
5. Troubled Blood (2020)

Author Biographies and Other Books

Robert Galbraith Biography

Robert Galbraith is the pen name chosen by J.K. Rowling. Famous for the Harry Potter series, Rowling desired to write a new series. She wanted to write something for pure pleasure, without fans and reviewers having certain expectations because of who she is. It was going to be just about the writing. J.K. Rowling elected to create a male pseudonym to have an opposite persona.

She chose the name Robert for several reasons. It is one of her favorite male names, the name had never been used for any of her literary characters, and her hero is Robert F. Kennedy. The surname Galbraith stems from Rowling's childhood. She desired to be called 'Ella Galbraith', despite never knowing anyone with that last name. J.K. Rowling considered L A Galbraith as a pen name for a brief period but worried the initials would cause readers to make the connection to her.

When Rowling created Robert Galbraith, she also needed to create a background for him. Since the new series centered around the Special Investigation Branch, it was only appropriate that Galbraith should have a military work history. Giving him that type of resume also provided solid reasons for the lack of public appearances and photographs.

Robert Galbraith is known as the author of the Cormoran Strike books, a series of five crime fiction novels.

The first in the series, The Cuckoo's Calling, debuted in 2013. Set in the streets of London, Cormoran Strike is a war veteran hired to investigate a troubled model's death. As he digs deeper into her complicated life, he puts himself in grave danger. While the probe is taking place, Robin Ellacott is brought in by a temp agency as Strike's secretary. His feelings for Robin turn romantic as the story progresses.

The Silkworm, the 2nd book in the Cormoran Strike series, was published in 2014. Strike and Robin return to take the case of the missing novelist, Owen Quine. Quine's wife has hired Strike after her husband disappears, but he ends up being murdered. Strike must then find the murderer and get to the root of their motivations.

In 2015, Career of Evil came out. Robin Ellacott receives a package containing a severed leg. Cormoran Strike suspects four people from his past who could have done this. As police investigate one of the possible perpetrators, Strike and Robin research the other three and delve into their lives. While this is taking place, they also face conflict in their personal lives.

Lethal White was released three years later in 2018. A young man named Billy visits Cormoran Strike's office to help look into a crime he believes he witnessed as a young boy. Strike and Robin are back in the city of London, researching Billy's story. The relationship between Strike and Robin has become complicated in the process.

Most recently, Troubled Blood finds Cormoran Strike visited by a woman who needs help finding her mother, who disappeared 40 years ago. The search leads to a serial killer, tarot cards, and deadly turns. Robin deals with a messy divorce and struggles with her own emotions toward Strike. Troubled Blood proves that even cases from decades ago can be dangerous.

J.K. Rowling is in the process of working on Robert Galbraith's next book in the Cormoran Strike series.

See more books by Robert Galbraith

Table of Contents