Louise Penny Books in Order: Inspector Gamache Books

Fans of Louise Penny’s Chief Inspector Gamache mysteries can look forward to a 17th in the series Aug. 24 with “The Madness of Crowds.”

Book 1: Still Life

The first Louise Penny book mysteries introduces Three Pines and its residents as one, Jane Neal, is shockingly the victim of a crime in this cozy village.

Book 2: Dead Cold / A Fatal Grace

As Gamache hunts the killer, he also faces dangerous enemies at the Surete du Quebec, setting up a dynamic that will play out in future novels.

Book 3: The Cruellest Month

A visit to the Old Hadley House, a murder, and demons of his own haunting Gamache create a play of darkness and light, death and rebirth.

Book 4: A Rule Against Murder / The Murder Stone

Keeping up with writing and posting is a huge time commitment. If English is your strong suit, consider this as your virtual assistant job.

Book 5: The Brutal Telling

A mystery that hits closer to Three Pines–the village B&B and its antique lover Olivier–again has literary references.

Swipe up for more