10 Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses’ world-building and character development are so rich that readers will almost certainly crave more even after finishing. If you are looking for a similar read, you have come to the right place. We have a list of 10 books like A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) that you will fall in love with.

1. From Blood and Ash

This is the first book in Jennifer Armentrout’s Blood and Ash series. The fantasy novel, published in 2020, focuses on a heroine named Poppy. The gods chose Poppy from birth for Ascension: a process by which the gods will grant Poppy divine powers.

As her time of Ascension grows closer, supernatural forces stage attacks to keep Poppy from Ascending. For protection, the Duke pair her with a handsome and charismatic guard named Hawke. A spicy romance ensues as Poppy wrestles with her future.

If you enjoyed the mysterious romance themes in A Court of Thorns and Roses, you are sure to enjoy the dynamic between Poppy and Hawke.

From Blood and Ash

See on Amazon

2. Graceling

If you enjoyed The Court of Thorns and Roses for its political drama, consider picking up Graceling.

Graceling’s protagonist, Katsa, uses her skills to assassinate the king’s political enemies and personal rivals. By chance, however, Katsa begins to unravel secrets behind her powers that spell danger for seven kingdoms of the realm.

Graceling features powerful families, councils, and kingdoms that are not what they seem. While the book was Kristin Cashore’s first published work, it does not disappoint.

Graceling

See on Amazon

3. Serpent & Dove

It can be hard to find books like ACOTAR in terms of romantic themes. After all, A Court of Thorns and Roses features an unlikely relationship between a captive and captor. Serpent & Dove, thankfully, hits many of the same notes.

Louise de Blanc is a witch who forsakes her magic and goes into hiding to protect herself. Witches like her are, after all, hunted down and killed. When her paths cross with a witch-hunter, Louise uses heavy magic to entice him. The couple later gets married, however, and romantic drama ensues. If you read Serpent & Dove and enjoy it, be sure to check out the other two books in the trilogy as well.

Serpent & Dove

See on Amazon

4. Crescent City

The Crescent City series currently has two books: House of Earth and Blood and House of Sky and Breath. Both stories feature angels and demons locked in conflict. A unique character arc, however, puts together a half-fae and a fallen angel.

The couple works to find a murdering demon and fall in deep, passionate love with each other. They proceed on thrilling adventures through both novels. If you are looking for books like A Court of Thorns and Roses that can match in literary style, look no further. After all, the author of ACOTAR (Sarah Maas) also wrote the Crescent City novels.

Crescent City

See on Amazon

5. A Touch of Darkness

Many fantasy novels take their inspiration from ancient myths. A Touch of Darkness is no exception, giving readers a riveting modern retelling of the Greek Persephone and Hades myth.

The story centers on Persephone, a college student, who has made a deal with Hades, the God of the Underworld. A Touch of Darkness is a heavy doss of forbidden romance as Persephone falls in love with Hades. The story is one of the shorter books on this list, clocking in at roughly 300 pages depending on which edition you own. This accessible length makes it an excellent choice for readers looking for a quick read.

A Touch of Darkness

See on Amazon

6. The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass is an imaginative story set in a dystopian version of the United States. The class system of this world traps people into rigid social classes that segregate citizens based on their wealth and status. 35 candidates from the working class are selected for a competition to marry the country’s prince. A girl named America, the main character, is one of these girls.

She finds herself torn in a scandalous love triangle with the prince and a member of the peasant class. The Selection does not contain the elements of fantasy in ACOTAR but excels in world-building and character arcs nonetheless.

The Selection

See on Amazon

7. Throne of Glass 

Fans of Sarah Maas will be glad to see another one of her books on this list. Throne of Glass, published in 2012, tells the story of a tough heroine working to win her freedom. Celaena will earn sweet freedom from her imprisonment if she can defeat other criminals in a fight to the death.

The novel makes this list of books like A Court of Thorns and Roses because of its rich, lovable characters. Calaena gradually learns that there is more to her world than she can see. As she makes this realization, readers will remain locked in suspense with her and the whole cast, page after page.

Throne of Glass 

See on Amazon

8. A Curse So Dark and Lonely

If you enjoy classic fairy tales, stop what you are doing and start reading A Curse So Dark and Lonely. This novel retells the classic story of The Beauty and the Beast but with a twist.

A girl named Harper living in the modern-day United States is magically pulled into a faraway land. She meets the afflicted prince, Rhen, and must race the clock to save her new lover and his kingdom from destruction.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely is similar to ACOTAR in both length and romantic themes.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

See on Amazon

9. The Shadows Between Us

This novel combines love, power, and magic, three of the most prominent themes in A Court of Thorns and Roses. The protagonist, Alessandra, plans to kill a mythical king to gain power over his kingdom. What happens, though, if Alessandra falls in love with the king? You will have to pick up a copy of The Shadows Between Us and find out for yourself.

The book is the first in the Shadows Between Us series. This means if you enjoy the first installment, there is plenty more material to sink your teeth into.

The Shadows Between Us

See on Amazon

10. The Shadow and Bone

Shadow and Bone was published in 2012. Since then, readers have loved the book’s heroine and its war-torn kingdom setting. The many courts, councils, and mysterious powers at play in the immersive world make the story complex. Shadow and Bone have more moving parts than A Court of Thorns and Roses, at least. However, the investment that you will need to keep up with these complexities is well worth it. The book’s payoff is sure to have you scrambling to read the other two books in the trilogy.

The Shadow and Bone

See on Amazon

Conclusion

As you can see, there are many books like A Court of Thorns and Roses to choose from. Whether you loved the book’s romance, adventure, magic, or political drama, this list has something for every ACOTAR fan. Be sure to bookmark this page and revisit it next time you are looking for your next read.


This post was proofread by Grammarly. Try it - it's FREE!

Capitalize My Title is a dynamic title capitalization tool used to make sure your titles or headlines use proper capitalization rules according to various style guides include APA, AP, MLA, and Chicago. It also counts your words and checks for grammar issues.

Prices last updated on 2022-03-03

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here